BOOK REVIEW – The Other Daughter by Shalini Boland

47575210._UY500_SS500_.jpg

I got a free advance readers’ copy in exchange for my honest review.

As parents, one of our worst nightmares would be to lose a child. I cannot even begin to imagine how much worse the pain would be to know that your child is gone just because you took your eye off her for a few minutes. Because, in reality, sometimes those few minutes are all it takes.


The Other Daughter is about such a loss. This book is written from two different perspectives. That of Rachel Farnsborough, a mother of two whose first child, Holly, went missing when she was nearly three, abducted by a mysterious stranger in a hoodie. And that of Catriona Devon, the mysterious stranger in a hoodie who took Holly. Nine years after, Rachel has moved from where that tragic incident took place and is now living in a quiet town, Dorset, with her two children and boyfriend. One day, she goes to pick up her children from school and meets a new parent, Kate Morris and her own kids. However, as soon as Rachel lays eyes on Kate’s eldest, Bella, she is convinced that Bella is her missing daughter. She is determined to prove it and get her daughter back.

This was my first book by Shalini Boland and I can safely say it would not be my last. This book was engrossing with an exceedingly surprising surprise ending which totally blew me away. When I first saw the blurb I hoped it would be as good as it sounded. I was not disappointed.

I found myself feeling so sorry for Rachel especially when I realized she had not told anybody in her new life about Holly’s disappearance. She preferred to deal with the pain by herself. Matthew, her boyfriend and father of her last child, was extremely supportive of her when she told him but I couldn’t help but feel that he was a bit much sometimes.

Writing from the different perspectives was a genius decision on the author’s part. I was able to sympathize partly with Catriona even though what she did was horribly wrong. She was also a victim in her own way.

There was, however, one part of the book which got to me. When Rachel first told Matthew about Holly, he insisted she get counseling. That is something which is expected if you lose a child. Any parent would be traumatized and should get counseling. However, Rachel started asking him if he thought she was mentally unstable. There are people who are stable who go for counseling. Admitting you need help dealing with issues does not make you mentally unstable.

Violence: None
Sexual Content: None
Profanities: Very mild
Religious Themes: None